The next chapter

So I’ve been falling behind on blog posts and even falling behind on working on my web serial lately. I got a new job that’s been tiring me out and then I got a throat infection that knocked me out for about a week. But I’m healthy again and not making any more excuses! Also, my friend Mary just made a post about getting back into writing for reasons similar to mine and it has inspired me to  keep at it. I was going to write a short review of a B movie I watched last night but I may save that for another time. For now, I’m just going to write a little bit about my plans for the near future.

I recently moved back to my home town after four years of university and one year of working (and making a short film) in Regina. My reason for coming home is to try to save up some money to be able to move to Edmonton, where I hope to be abel to find some work in the film industry. I also really love Edmonton and think it would be a generally nice city to live in. I was hoping to save up a good sum of money and move sometime in the winter. Unfortunately it took my over a month to find a good job, and I only wound up finding it because I decided to become a student again in the fall. The job is great (making videos and taking photos for the Western Development Museum) but, as a student position, it only lasts about three months. So I’ve decided that from here on out I’m going to live as frugally as possible and try to make the move to Edmonton as soon as this job ends. My main reason behind this is because I had enough difficulty finding a job this time around that I don’t want to suffer through the process again in the fall. Most of the good paying jobs in this town start as casual positions and expect you to stick around for years to become full time. Obviously I only want to be here for a few months so if I manage to get anything it’s going to be a poorly paying retail job that will take ages to add up to any real savings. So all in all it seems like moving to a city with more opportunities, especially opportunities in my preferred industry, will do me more good than trying to save up cash at some dead end job in my home town.

Thinking about it is a bit nerve wracking. At most I’ll have saved a few thousand dollars. I will have to find a place to live and a job around the same time in a city I’ve never lived in before. It’s also very exciting because this will be the first time I’ve lived outside of Saskatchewan. It’s only one province over but it still feels really new and interesting to me. Trying to live and work at home always makes me feel a bit depressed and frustrated because it seems like everything here too temporary or too permanent. The fun jobs are for summer students and end so quickly, and the good paying jobs are a huge investment of time and not of much interest to me. The main draw of living at home is to be able to worry less about finances which is a big thing for me because I’m not the best with money. But I need to start taking this part of my life a lot more seriously and start spending less. I’m getting better at this and am managing to sell/give away a lot of my old stuff. As long as I can get a decent job in Edmonton and avoid excess spending, I think I can get into a comfortable place in my life financially. If I can do this and keep up with my creative work, I think I’ll be quite happy. It’s going to be a big change but I think it’s for the best. Wish me luck as I prepare over the next few months!

Leave a Reply

