Almost Ready

Again it’s been a long break between blog posts, but with good reason! I’ve been in the process of finding an apartment in Edmonton, where I will be moving in a few weeks. I also went to my sister’s 40th birthday celebration. And on top of all that I’ve been trying to finish up pre-writing my web serial. It still doesn’t have a title, but I’ve had the phrase “Loki’s Gambit” stuck in my head for ages, so that may be what it’s called.

I’m not sure if I mentioned it in a previous post or not but one of the main reasons I chose to use WordPress over other blogging sites is because this seems like one that I can format easily for a web serial. (Just in case you don’t know, a web serial is a novel that you publish online one section at a time.) I plan on posting probably twice a month once the pre-writing is finished. At the moment, it’s set to be approximately 20 chapters plus a few short stories in between certain chapters. If I manage to post every two weeks, that should take about a year to finish. This is a big project, but it’s one that I am extremely excited to try out!

The web serial format is a bit scary because I’ll be publishing chapters before the project is totally finished. On the other hand, though, it could be a great format because I can gauge reactions (if anyone comments on it) and change my mind about later chapters if I wish. It’s going to be interesting, for sure. But the point of this post is to say, I am ALMOST done pre-writing! Basically I just need to do a bit of a treatment where I flesh out the contents of each chapter a bit more. That will allow me to be totally sure of the order of events and catch any major plot holes early. If I really hunker down this means I may be able to start writing this thing by the beginning of September, and start posting chapters by the beginning of October. Whenever I set dates they wind up being way off, but hopefully this time I’ll be right!

A big part of this project is making an attempt to build a bit of a readership. I’m going to be posting obnoxiously about it on social media and trying my damnedest to update regularly. If everything goes will, hopefully I’ll have a couple fans by the end of it and can continue on into the next project. So if you read this blog, please check out “Loki’s Gambit” (working title!) when it starts over the next couple months! I’m excited for it, and so should you be!

Leave a Reply

