National Novel Writing Month, Round 2

If you keep up with my ramblings on this site you probably know that I am planning to write a web serial as soon as I can get it off the ground. It’s a Norse  Mythology based story that, in the end, will be about the length of a short novel. My original plan was to write one chapter/section at a time, and then release them as they were written. I’ve opted to do things a bit differently. This method would have been fine except for the fact that I would only have a couple weeks to write, re-write, and edit each chapter. So I’ve decided to write the whole first draft in one go and then do my re-writes and edits over the next year. This will save a lot of time and make the actual release of the project much less stressful.

Since my change of plans lines up nicely with November, I’ve decided to try writing “Loki’s Gambit” (working title) during National Novel Writing Month! For those who don’t know, NaNoWriMo is an event put on every November by a nonprofit of the same name (formerly known as The Office of Letters and Light). The goal of the event is to write a novel of 50,000 words during the month of November. If you manage to start and finish 50,000 words, you are considered a winner for that year! You don’t have to finish the whole novel, just the word count. The idea is to inspire yourself to be creative and accomplish something awesome. The final product will likely need tons of editing, as most first drafts do, but regardless of whether you ever take it to the final draft stage you do manage to do something pretty awesome. I wrote a novel in 2009 and it was a really great experience. This time around it may be a bit more tough because I am taking a couple classes and will (hopefully) have a job. My job in 2009 allowed me to do a bit of writing at work on night shifts which really helped.

I am extremely excited to take part in NaNoWriMo again this year and even more excited to try releasing a web serial in January. Thanks to those of you who read my blog, I will definitely be posting updates about the process throughout November. Wish me luck! And best of luck to all of you novelists out there!

Check out the NaNoWriMo site, if you’re interested in learning more: http://nanowrimo.org/dashboard

Leave a Reply

