Trying Out “Superbetter”

Today I decided to give something called “Gamification” a try. Basically Gamification is using concepts common in games to help motivate yourself and self improve. I think the most well known example of this is Fitbit which challenges you to set step goals and compete with friends in order to become more physically active. I read an article, that’ I’ll link below, on “The Mary Sue” earlier that explained it all. It included a link to a website called Superbetter. It’s kind of a cheesy name, and it involves setting “epic goals,” which make it sound like it was written by a middle aged person trying really hard to be cool. Regardless, I decided to give it a shot because I have a lot of trouble motivating myself. I procrastinate a lot and am really easily distracted. So I decided to try the Superbetter plan for improving my will power! The site gives you power packs that you can use to help with mental, social, physical, and emotional aspects of your life. It uses quests, game concepts like “bad guys” and a levelling system to help motivate you to improve yourself. Mine is designed to help me strengthen my will power, and hopefully stop procrastinating and motivate myself more!

The “epic goal” I set, which will be the first of several, is to write 500 words a day for seven days in a row. And one of the quests for today is to journal about one my habits that could be rewired with enough practice. I am supposed to answer “What would you rewire? Why?”

Well, I want to rewire the fact that I will watch TV shows, play video games, and watch youtube BEFORE I write or edit projects. I wind up spending ages doing stuff that’s just for fun, then lose motivation once I decide I’ve “wasted my day” on these things, and barely get anything done by the end of the day. So I want to rewire that habit! I am going to try to write and edit before I do fun things. I need to earn my relaxation rather than defaulting to it. Hopefully all of these goals and “quests” will help me get where I need to be!

 

Links

http://www.themarysue.com/how-to-use-gamification-to-improve-your-life/

https://www.superbetter.com/

One thought on “Trying Out “Superbetter”

  1. Good luck and let us know how it goes. I have tried gamification before, but it never worked for me. What helps me a lot is to know that I have people that expect a new chapter every Saturday. It just gives me that little additional bit of motivation to get off Facebook.

Leave a Reply

