The Middle of Nowhere Part 1

Leaving Home Instax 210 Wide

     She left so long ago with every intention of comin’ back to visit. Somehow almost 50 years passed while she was gone but she didn’t age a day. She lost all memory of what happened after she had left. Seems like only a few minutes have gone since then. She says there was a great white flash and a loud bang. She woke up with the truck broken down in the ditch a few miles down the road. She walked back and so much had changed. She was lucky I still lived on the farm. I’m the only one left now. We used to be real close friends but I barely recognized her, to be honest. We were both twenty then. I’m seventy now. I can’t wrap my head around how it could have happened. There’s gonna be fella’s in suits and lab coats poking and prodding around soon but until then she’s staying with me. I bet she’s even more confused than I am.

     It sounds like something straight out of a science fiction story. The first gal I talked to on the phone had a lot of things to say about quantum physics that neither of us really understood. The gist of it was that it was somehow possible despite how completely insane we both thought we sounded. Fifty years went by normally for me and in the blink of an eye for her. To this day I don’t understand what happened but there’s no reason to deny it. It was the beginning of a truly strange time. The whole world changed, starting with a young lady from the middle of no where.

2 thoughts on “The Middle of Nowhere Part 1

Leave a Reply

