Shooting the Sculpture Doc

I know this is going up late but I wound up having a busier week than expected. I swear I’ll get this right someday! Anyhow, this week I’m posting what the process of actually shooting the documentary was like. This one’s going to be fairly short, so I’ll include a little clip from the interview and a bit of Aaron working just for the fun of it.

The shooting process involved two separate days, which was actually a lot less than I expected. The first day was shooting the interview and the second was shooting Aaron actually creating his sculpture. I don’t own any lights so for the interview we just used the light from the window and the lights in the basement we shot in. We ran in to troubles with sound because there was some sort of who knows what making noise directly above Aaron’s work space on the interview day. I normally record with a small lapel mic through my Zoom H4Next audio recorder, but this background noise made that audio pretty useless. I shot the interview on my Canon T3i with an 85mm Rokinon lens, The T3i is getting pretty old, but for my broke-ass purposes it still shoots great stuff! The Rokinon lens is easily my favourite for close ups and stationary interviews.

The second day I switched between the 85mm and my 50mm Canon lens. I didn’t bother with audio other than the camera’s on board mic this time. I don’t plan on using much of the audio from this day, and I was operating as a one person crew so I didn’t have anyone available to hold a mic anyhow. (Sometimes I feel like I’m making excuses, but having no money and bare minimum equipment does affect my shoots!) I expected this part of the process to take a few days but Aaron worked impressively fast on his sculpture and we wound up shooting for about three hours and he was finished. I tried some handheld shooting for the first time and discovered I was honestly not a fan of it. It allowed me to get closer to my subject but I found it difficult to hold a DSLR still enough. Some of the handheld shots were okay, some of them kinda stank. I shot a fair bit of stuff on the tripod as well, but in such a small space I found it difficult to get very many angles this way. Before I shoot my next doc I may invest in a cheap camcorder just so I can get closer to my subjects.

So that’s pretty much it. My process was pretty simple and I kinda just dove in and shot Aaron working on the go. We both commented that our projects (his sculpture and my film) were a bit experimental. We were both trying new things and diving into a project, and it was a lot of fun! It’s been an interesting experience being an artist observing another artist work. If you’ve been enjoying these little process posts (I promise next week’s will be on time!) let me know! Also, if you have any questions/comments/discussion points about filmmaking or creating things in general, feel free to comment! Thanks for dropping by!

Also, here’s a bit of footage of Aaron working on his sculpture for the documentary as a bit of a teaser!

 

Leave a Reply

