Gallivan Photos

This past weekend my friend Michael and I took a trip to an abandoned town called Gallivan. We decided we wanted to go to a small, abandoned, prairie town and take some photos. We did a bit of google searching and this was one of the closest “ghost towns” we could find. It was a really fascinating experience!  I’m always a bit iffy about taking pictures of buildings and things like that so I was really pleased about how these turned out! I love the textures you can find in abandoned little places like this. The old, dried out wood and mossy tiles on roofs look really gorgeous. It was a really fun experience and we’re hoping to go out and try it again soon!

 

IMG_7164
We found some geese on the drive up and this was the pest picture I managed to take.

IMG_7171IMG_7175

IMG_7178
There’s no statement being made here, I just loved the look of the old paint.

IMG_7195

IMG_7197
This one’s kind of boring but I sorta like it?
IMG_7199
We found piles and piles of old books in an abandoned church and I absolutely loved the colour of these ones.

IMG_7201

IMG_7204
By the time we reached this outhouse I realized we were too far from the car for me to get my other lenses. I like this image, but I wish there were a few less plants in the way.

IMG_7206

IMG_7210
I think this is my favourite of the buildings. The angle it’s leaning at looks super interesting.

IMG_7212IMG_7215IMG_7219IMG_7224

IMG_7226
My new favourite thing is moss on old roof tiles.

IMG_7231IMG_7237IMG_7242

IMG_7243
Both of these pictures were my attempt at taking a sunset/horizon shot. I don’t know which I like better but I’ve tried stuff like this before and it’s never turned out. I was exited to get these!
IMG_7179
We discovered a building with probably about four feet or more of solid ice in the basement. We took some pictures inside but most of mine didn’t turn out. i liked this silhouette of Michael looking inside though.
Leave a Reply

